Pharmacy Technician Programs
Pharmacy Technician Programs

Pharmacy Technician Certification and Licensing Requirements by State

Almost every state regulates the employment of pharmacy technicians. To work as a pharm tech, you must meet certain state-specific requirements. Read on to find a summary of each state’s requirements.

A – C – D – F – G – H – I – K – L – M – N – O – P – R – S – T – U – V – W

Alabama

To work as a pharmacy technician in Alabama, one must be 17 years old and work under the direct supervision of a pharmacist who is licensed to work in the state of Alabama. Those who are interested in working as a pharmacy technician in Alabama must submit a written application to the Alabama Board of Pharmacy before they can start working in a pharmacy. A pharmacy technician must also complete three hours of continuing education through a program that is approved by the Alabama Board of Pharmacy or through the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. More information can be found at the Alabama Board of Pharmacy website. Another resource for certification in Alabama is the Alabama Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

Alaska

To be certified as a pharmacy technician in Alaska, one must be 18 years of age, fluent in the English language, hold a high school degree or equivalent, and be able to perform the duties of a pharmacy technician. Interested individuals cannot have a felony conviction or any other conviction that may influence their ability to work as a pharmacy technician. To obtain a license in Alaska, one must seek licensure through theAlaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

Arizona

To be employed as a pharmacy technician in Arizona, each individual must be a United States citizen and have a high school diploma or equivalent. Each individual must also provide proof of certification with the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. For more information on the requirements for becoming a practicing pharmacy technician in Arizona, visit this website.

Arkansas

In Arkansas, individuals who want to be work as a pharmacy technician must have a high school diploma or equivalent, pass a state and federal criminal background check, and be of good moral character. Individuals must apply and be approved by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy in order to practice as a pharmacy technician. More information can be obtained on the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy website.

Back to Top

California

To work as a pharmacy technician in California, individuals must have completed higher education coursework, such as earning an associate’s degree in pharmacy technology; completing a course accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; or earning a degree from any pharmacy school accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education. Individuals must apply for licensure through the California Board of Pharmacy by completing an application, submitting a registration fee, and submitting their fingerprints. Licensing for pharmacy technicians is regulated by theCalifornia Board of Pharmacy.

Colorado

The state of Colorado does not certify or license pharmacy technicians. Individuals who are interested in receiving certification can take the appropriate exam hosted by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. For more information regarding Colorado’s requirements, visit this website.

Connecticut

To work as a pharmacy technician in Connecticut, one must be certified and registered with the state’s Department of Consumer Protection. Requirements for registration with the department include certification through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or another certification program recognized by the department. Pharmacy technicians must be supervised at all times by a pharmacist and must be able to perform all the functions required in the method of dispensing drugs. For more information, please visit the Department of Consumer Protection website.

Back to Top

Delaware

To operate as a pharmacy technician in the state of Delaware, one must work in a pharmacy under the direct supervision of a pharmacist. Certification is not required, nor is licensing, but certified technicians may have more opportunities than technicians who are not certified. For more information, please visit Delaware’s Board of Pharmacy website.

Back to Top

Florida

To work as a pharmacy technician in Florida, one must be registered with Florida’s Board of Pharmacy. Requirements for registration require one of the following: 1,500 hours of work experience; completion of a state-approved education program; or certification by a national agency, such as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. Applicants who meet one of these requirements must submit an application and a fee to the board to complete the registration process. On January 1, 2011, requirements will change and applicants will be required to complete a state-recognized pharmacy technician program.

Back to Top

Georgia

Licensing in Georgia is not required for pharmacy technicians, but the Board of Pharmacy only recognizes certified technicians as those who have completed an approved nationally certified technician program. Pharmacy technicians employed in pharmacies must be under the direct supervision of a pharmacist and cannot offer counseling to patients. More information on the requirements to work as a pharmacy technician in Georgia can be found at this website.

Back to Top

Hawaii

Hawaii does not require pharmacy technicians to be licensed or certified, but certification through a national certification board may offer an individual more job opportunities. For more information, visit Hawaii’s Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs website.

Back to Top

Idaho

To work as a pharmacy technician in Idaho, candidates must be 18 years of age, have sound moral character, a high school diploma or equivalent, and be certified by a national certification board, such as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians. Once all of these requirements are met, licensing is provided through the Idaho Board of Pharmacy.

Illinois

Pharmacy technicians in Illinois must be licensed through the Division of Professional Regulation. To obtain a license in the state of Illinois, applicants must have completed (or be in the process of completing) a high school diploma or equivalent.

Indiana

To work as a pharmacy technician in Indiana, an individual must be certified by theIndiana Board of Pharmacy. To obtain certification, one must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, have not been convicted of a crime that relates to working with controlled substances, and have completed an educational program through a pharmacy or educational institution. The board may waive the educational requirement if the individual has completed a certification program approved by the board. More information on becoming a pharmacy technician in Indiana can be found at this website.

Iowa

In Iowa, pharmacy technicians must be registered with the Board of Pharmacy in order to work in a pharmacy. Requirements for registration include certification with either the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians.

Back to Top

Kansas

In order to work as a pharmacy technician in Kansas, one must be registered with theKansas Board of Pharmacy. Individuals must be registered with the Board before they can be employed in a pharmacy. After an individual is employed, he or she must pass an exam given by the pharmacy. This exam is only required after the individual’s initial registration.

Kentucky

Pharmacy technicians in Kentucky must be registered with the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy. To obtain licensure, one must fill out an application and submit a fee. Approval for certification is determined by the board.

Back to Top

Louisiana

In Louisiana, individuals who wish to work as pharmacy technicians must be certified by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. To obtain certification, an individual must pass a board-approved exam, as well as earn 600 practical field hours. Individuals must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and submit to a criminal background check.

Back to Top

Maine

Licensing for pharmacy technicians in Maine is regulated by the Board of Pharmacy and the Office of Licensing and Registration. To work as a pharmacy technician, one must submit an application and fee, as well as submit to a criminal background check. Maine also designates between pharmacy technician and pharmacy technician advanced. To be licensed as a pharmacy technician advanced, one must be certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board and have completed the National Community Pharmacy Technician Training Program, as well as pass the corresponding exam.

Maryland

In Maryland, pharmacy technicians must register with the Maryland Board of Pharmacy. Individuals must be certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or complete a board-approved training program that includes 160 hours of work experience and lasts no longer than 6 months. Those who complete the training program must also pass a board-certified exam. Requirements for all candidates include possession of a high school diploma or equivalent, or that the candidate is currently enrolled in high school with good standing. Individuals must also submit to a criminal background check.

Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, individuals who want to work as pharmacy technicians must register with the Massachusetts Board of Pharmacy. Applicants must be 18 years old, be currently enrolled in a high school degree program, or have a high school diploma or equivalent. Individuals must also be certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians. However, the board will also accept exam results from board-approved pharmacy technician training programs that are completed through the pharmacy of employment.

Michigan

Currently, Michigan does not require individuals who work as pharmacy technicians to be licensed or registered. Basic requirements involve strong moral character, basic reading and reasoning skills, and the ability to assist pharmacists with all required duties. For more information, visit the Department of Community Health website.

Minnesota

Individuals interested in working as pharmacy technicians must be at least 16 years old and have an understanding of Minnesota’s pharmacy laws. To work as a pharmacy technician, individuals must be registered with Minnesota’s Board of Pharmacy.

Mississippi

In Mississippi, pharmacy technicians must register with Mississippi’s Board of Pharmacywithin 30 days of accepting employment. To be licensed, individuals must submit an application and a non-refundable fee.

Missouri

Pharmacy technicians in Missouri must register with the Missouri Board of Pharmacythrough the Division of Professional Registration. To obtain certification through the board, individuals must submit an application, a registration fee, be fingerprinted, and submit to a criminal background check.

Montana

To work as a pharmacy technician in Montana, individuals must register with theMontana Board of Pharmacy. To obtain licensure through the board, one must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, be certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or another board-recognized agency, and submit three references—one being a practicing pharmacist.

Back to Top

Nebraska

Pharmacy technicians in Nebraska must register with the Department of Health and Human Services. To successfully obtain licensure, technicians must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and they cannot have a felony or misdemeanor conviction on a non-alcohol, drug-related charge.

Nevada

In Nevada, individuals must register with the Nevada Board of Pharmacy to practice as a pharmacy technician. Applicants must be 18 years or older and have a high school diploma or equivalent. They cannot have a felony or misdemeanor conviction that involves drugs, and they cannot have a history of drug abuse. Individuals must be licensed as a pharmacy technician in a state that provides licenses to pharmacy technicians; complete 1,500 hours of training in Nevada as a registered pharmacy technician-in-training; or have graduated from a school accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP). If an individual has obtained a degree from a school not accredited by the ASHP, he or she must take and pass the exam given by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

New Hampshire

To work as a pharmacy technician in New Hampshire, registration with the New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy is required. To obtain licensure, applicants must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or equivalent (or be working toward one), be of strong moral character, and they cannot have been convicted of a drug-related felony or misdemeanor charge. Once registered, the technician must complete a training program designed by their pharmacy of employment.

New Jersey

New Jersey does not require pharmacy technicians be certified to work in the state. However, each technician must register with New Jersey’s Board of Pharmacy.

New Mexico

All pharmacy technicians practicing in the state of New Mexico must be licensed by the state’s Board of Pharmacy. To obtain licensure, candidates must have 220 hours of on-the-job training, or complete a curriculum approved by the board.

New York

Pharmacy technicians are not currently regulated in New York, but the state’s Office of Professions is discussing possible regulation of pharmacy technicians.

North Carolina

In North Carolina, individuals who wish to work as pharmacy technicians must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy. An application and fee must be submitted in order to register as a technician.

North Dakota

Pharmacy technicians in North Dakota must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacyto be permitted to work in pharmacies. There are currently no state-mandated education requirements.

Back to Top

Ohio

While the Ohio Board of Pharmacy does not require registration by pharmacy technicians, to work as a pharmacy technician an individual must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or equivalent, have passed a board-recognized technician exam, and have submitted to a criminal background check.

Oklahoma

To work as a pharmacy technician in Oklahoma, one must complete two phases of training. The first phase must take place before the technician is given a permit, and it involves a training program implemented by the hiring pharmacy. It must be completed 90 days after the technician has received his or her permit. The second phase involves on-the-job training, also conducted by the pharmacy of employment. Both phases must follow board-approved guidelines. For more information, please visit the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy website.

Oregon

In Oregon, individuals who wish to work as pharmacy technicians must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy. To obtain certification, one must have a high school diploma or equivalent, and have taken and passed a national certification exam through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or through the Institute for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians.

Back to Top

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania does not currently regulate or register pharmacy technicians. However, those who possess national certification may have more employment opportunities. For more information, please visit the Pennsylvania Board of Pharmacy website.

Back to Top

Rhode Island

Rhode Island licenses two levels of pharmacy technicians. Those who fall under the first level must be registered with the state’s Board of Pharmacy and have passed a board-recognized training program. The second level technicians must also register with the board, but they must also be certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (or another board-recognized certification program), as well as pass a board-recognized training program. All candidates must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or equivalent, be of strong moral character, and they cannot have been convicted of a felony involving substance abuse.

Back to Top

South Carolina

Pharmacy technicians in South Carolina must be certified by the state’s Board of Pharmacy. To obtain certification, individuals must have a high school diploma or equivalent, have completed a formal academic training program, pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board exam, and have completed 1,000 hours of training.

South Dakota

In South Dakota, pharmacy technicians are required to register with the state’sDepartment of Health within 30 days of accepting employment at a pharmacy. For individuals who are enrolled in a college program, registration must be completed before employment is obtained.

Back to Top

Tennessee

Individuals who wish to work as pharmacy technicians in Tennessee must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy. Along with an application, candidates must submit a statement about their good moral character, as well as an affidavit from their employer stating that the individual knows and comprehends the state pharmacy regulations.

Texas

Before they can be employed in a pharmacy, individuals in Texas must register with the state Board of Pharmacy. When registering, individuals must submit to a background check and be fingerprinted. Formal education is not required to work as a pharmacy technician in Texas.

Back to Top

Utah

Individuals who want to work as pharmacy technicians in Utah must register with the state’s Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Individuals must also complete a training program in Utah or a formal education program, and they must pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board exam or another board-approved exam, plus a state-mandated exam. The individual must also submit to fingerprinting.

Back to Top

Vermont

Individuals in Vermont must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy to practice as pharmacy technicians. An application must be submitted, along with a fee and documentation proving that the applicant is certified through a national certification board, such as the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

Virginia

In Virginia, individuals who want to work as pharmacy technicians must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy. To successfully register in Virginia, one must pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board exam or another board-approved training program.

Back to Top

Washington

To work as a pharmacy technician in the state of Washington, individuals must register with the state’s Board of Pharmacy. To qualify for a license, individuals must complete a training program that is board-approved and includes 520 hours of on-the-job training. Individuals must also pass a nationally recognized certification program.

West Virginia

In West Virginia, pharmacy technicians must register with the Board of Pharmacy. But before an individual can register as a pharmacy technician, he or she must register as a technician-in-training. Once the individual is registered as in training, he or she must complete 2,080 hours of work within a two-year period under the direct supervision of a registered pharmacist, and then pass the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy Technician Examination. Trainees can be under the age of 18 and still enrolled in a high school program, but to be registered as a technician he or she must be 18 years or older and have completed a high school degree program or equivalent.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin does not currently license or regulate pharmacy technicians. However, individual pharmacies may set their own policies for determining the employment eligibility of an individual. For more information, please visit the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing website.

Wyoming

Pharmacy technicians in Wyoming must be registered with Wisconsin’s State Board of Pharmacy. An individual must first register as a technician-in-training and complete required on-the-job training to prepare for licensure as a technician. To obtain licensure, an individual must be 18 years of age or older, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and be certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. They cannot have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony relating to the misuse of a controlled substance, and they cannot have a history of drug abuse.

Back to Top